1998/99 MANZ Summer Championship

Round 1, Manfield, Feilding
Round 3, Manfield, Feilding
Round 2, Centennial Park, Taupo
Round 4, Pukekohe, Auckland

The MANZ Summer Championship finished on 16/17th January 1999. Jason Richards has joined the ranks of his Long Time Team Mates Craig Baird and Brett Riley, Winning the Motorsport Association of New Zealand Summer Series for the International Motorsport NZ Team in his BMW 320i. The Affable and Engaging Driver Achieved the Perfect Points Score Obliterating any Opposition Before Him, Effortlessly Displaying an Immense Underlying Natural Talent. It is the 6th Consecutive Season that Lyall Williamson's Team has won the Title and a Testament to Williamson's Organisation and Competitiveness. Congratulations must also go to Martin Collins and the BMW Pit Crew Who Took Engine Failures and Serious Damage all in Their Stride!
Barrie Thomlinson who Made a Mid-Season jump from BMW to Ford was Richards only Major Threat Providing Richards with Stiff Competition in the Latter Half of the Season. It would also have been Interesting to see What Another Couple of Meetings Might have Achieved for the Rapidly Improving Ford Telstar Team of Geoff Short. Short's Telstars Impressed with their Reliability and towards the End of the Season, their Speed!
Ted Jarvis brought the Toyota Corolla home for the Under 1600cc Class win as Mike Eady and Ross Heffernan had done before him. Ted's consistency throughout the Championship Paid Dividends, Jarvis Managing to out Fox Glenn Mildenhall for the Title!

Other Championships